2015 Elections: Record number of BME MP’s make history


British democracy has once again made history.

A record number of BME politicians have been elected to Parliament, with eight new BME MPs coming from Labour, seven from the Conservatives, and one SNP.  Ten new BME female MPs have been returned to the House of Commons.

One new MP who has made history is Alan Mak, who becomes the first MP of Chinese origin to sit in the House of Commons, having won Havant.

OBV congratulates all these new BME MPs, and we are particularly pleased with the election of Clive Lewis who won in Norwich South.  Clive is the second OBV alumnus who took part in our MP shadowing scheme to get elected. Other alumni include the Conservative Minister Helen Grant, and the former Conservative Cabinet member Baroness Sayeeda Warsi.

The number BME MP’s is up to 41 from 25 in 2010.

Election after election we are seeing parliament become more representative from both political parties.  The challenge now in the months and years to come will be to build upon that, so that by 2020 we see this figure nearly double.

Congratulations to all the BME MPs both old and new.  Our nation is strengthened by greater diversity.  And whilst we know that you’ll face each on opposing sides of the House, sometimes fiercely, we hope that you come together to ensure our Government tackles persistent race inequality right across Government departments.

Today we congratulate you, and ask that you show leadership that unites our communities.

  • Alan Mak, Conservative, Havant
  • Clive Lewis, Labour, Norwich South
  • Dawn Butler, Labour, Brent South
  • Imran Hussain, Labour, Bradford East
  • James Cleverly, Conservative, Braintree
  • Kate Osamor, Labour, Edmonton
  • Naz Shah, Labour, Bradford West
  • Nusrat Ghani, Conservative, Wealden
  • Ranil Jayawardena, Conservative, North East Hampshire
  • Rishi Sunak, Conservative, Richmond (Yorks)
  • Rupa Huq, Labour, Ealing Central and Acton
  • Seema Kennedy, Conservative, South Ribble
  • Suella Fernandes, Conservative, Fareham 
  • Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, SNP, Ochil and South Perthshire
  • Thangam Debbonaire, Labour, Bristol West
  • Tulip Siddiq, Labour, Hampstead and Kilburn

Simon Woolley